wqprogue.blogg.se

Tests magic lantern canon 5d mark iii benchmarks
Tests magic lantern canon 5d mark iii benchmarks











tests magic lantern canon 5d mark iii benchmarks tests magic lantern canon 5d mark iii benchmarks

The camera can usually play back the last RAW file after recording, but if you want it in real-time, it’s in black and white and flickers terribly. The first big hurdle we ran into was on-set playback. We could take some risks on this project. Matthan and I looked at the examples and thought, what do we have to lose? If it became onerous, we could switch back to shooting H264’s, but he was game to try it out and there weren’t any clients on set to embarrass ourselves in front of. One 64GB Card holds about 12 minutes of RAW footage.Īn opportunity to use the RAW feature on a real job presented itself in the form of a short film project titled ‘Sudden Reality’, directed by Matthan Harris. I bought 5* 64GB Lexar 1066x CF Cards and one 128GB Komputerbay 1066x card for my kit. Of course, to record in RAW creates a LOT more data and requires expensive, high-speed CF Cards. The RAW frame grab was made from a ProRes HQ Quicktime that I’d made via two pieces of software which I’ll talk about in a minute. Also, the RAW image is a bit sharper than the H264s. You can clearly see more highlight and shadow detail in the RAW image. Here are two screen grabs from my own testing of RAW vs H264. MLV’s, and they contain both picture and sound. mov files, but Magic Lantern allows you to record the RAW 14-bit images from the sensor. The 5DMark3 normally records highly-compressed H264. Included at the bottom are more links that I found helpful when testing and researching Magic Lantern, including installation guides and samples. I’ve read a lot of information on shooting with Magic Lantern, but I also found it hard to get detailed tips from in-the-field users, so hopefully this will shed more light on the process for you. I was interested in playing around with Magic Lantern’s RAW hack after seeing some examples of the improved video quality, but was a bit intimidated by stories I’d heard about it being complicated and time consuming. I recently upgraded my 5 year old Canon 7D and bought a 5D Mark III.













Tests magic lantern canon 5d mark iii benchmarks